Preventing Burnout in Perimenopause: Tips for Keeping Your Sanity

EA Meadows
6 min readJul 24, 2024
Photo by Sanni Sahil on Unsplash

Well hello, fellow professional folk! Full transparency – I am a neurodivergent middle-aged woman navigating the wild ride of perimenopause. If you are in any way like me, you’re probably dealing with constant exhaustion and a slew of new physical and mental challenges. So, let’s dig up some practical tips to keep burnout at bay and maintain our sanity.

For the players at home in tonight’s game, perimenopause is the time pre-menopause, where hormones are all over the place as the whole baby-making machine slowly closes shop. It can last up to a decade. Once menopause hits (12 consecutive months with no menstruation), a whole new set of symptoms comes into play. It’s a whole area of womanhood that isn’t as openly discussed or acknowledged as it should be. Thus why I’m writing about my experience with it and sharing widdle wisdoms I’ve found help me and hopefully others on this wild ride.

Where’s the neurodivergent come in?? Well, I’m Autistic, and since being diagnosed as an adult, I’ve learnt a whole lot about myself and how my mind works. Some of the tools I use to help me deal with preventing burnout are helpful with perimenopause, so it seems!

Let’s get into it…

First and foremost, keep track of your symptoms. During perimenopause, you can have some wild…

--

--

EA Meadows

EA Meadows is an Instructional Designer, Project Manager and quirky neurodiverse Gen-Xer who is a self-professed lifelong learner.